The 6 Pillars of Self-Esteem; Living Consciously

Lilit Amiraghyan


The 6 pillars of self-esteem by Nathaniel Branden are:

  1. The practice of living CONSCIOUSLY,

  2. The practice of SELF-ACCEPTANCE,

  3. The practice of SELF-RESPONSIBILITY,

  4. The practice of SELF-ASSERTIVENESS,

  5. The practice of LIVING PURPOSEFULLY,

  6. The practice of PERSONAL INTEGRITY.

THE PRACTICE OF LIVING CONSCIOUSLY assumes being aware of reality. We, as human beings, have mind and, accordingly, we have an option to:

  1. Seek the truth or to avoid it,

  2. Seek awareness or to avoid it actively,

  3. Focus our mind or not to bother.

Choosing the second options (after or) we betray our mind, which has a negative effect on our self-esteem, lowering it. Here are some simple examples of betraying:

  1. I know I don't give my best to my job, but I don't want to think about it.

  2. I know my children need more of me, more of my attention, but I think or say that one day somehow I will find more time for them.

  3. I know my business is falling down more and more, but the thing I did before worked well. So, I keep doing the same thing. Some day the situation will resolve itself, etc.